Skip to content

How Many Books in the Ethiopian Bible

    How Many Books Are in the Ethiopian Bible? how many books in the ethiopian bible

    Ethiopian Christians have a consensus that the Bible contains eighty-one books. This number is based on the thirteenth-century canon law code. The Law of the Kings claims authority from the apostles. A catalogue of accepted books lists seventy-three books.

    Table of Contents


    The Ethiopian Bible is a compilation of 81 to 88 books written in Ge’ez, the ancient dead language of Ethiopia. It contains some excommunicated books from the KJV. The Ethiopian Heritage Fund has been responsible for its preservation. However, the list is not completely inclusive. It also includes several apocryphals.

    While the Protestant Bible recognizes only 27 books from the New Testament and 39 from the Old Testament, the Ethiopian Bible contains 81 books from both the Old and New Testaments. However, the Ethiopian Bible also includes several writings that have not been accepted by other churches. For instance, it contains the expanded versions of Daniel and Esther. It also includes dozens of books from the Apostolic tradition.

    The Ethiopian Bible contains many texts which date back hundreds of years. The book of Enoch, which sheds light on Jewish life during the centuries before the Christian era, is included. Another notable book is Jubilee, which is also called the Little Genesis. It also includes the Ascension of Isaiah.

    Ethiopians regard the Biblical corpus as a condensed body of writings. There are many different canon lists in Ethiopia, with the most popular one attributed to Ethiopian Orthodox Church authorities. Some Ethiopian bibles are considered to be canonical, while others are considered apocryphal. In the case of the Ethiopian Bible, it is still difficult to identify which books are canonical.


    The Ethiopian Bible is a version of the Hebrew Bible. It contains 46 books of the Old Testament and 35 books of the New Testament. Ethiopia’s Orthodox Church also includes the books of Enoch, Baruch, and the third and fourth Esdras, which were based on the Septuagint. Other books are classified as psudepigraphic, but these are not included in Ethiopia’s version.

    See also  What Does Beelzebub Mean in the Bible

    There are several differences between the Ethiopian and Nestorian canons. Ethiopians accept more books than Nestorians do. Some of these books are spurious, and some are even heretical. The Ethiopian Bible includes the first seven books of the Apostolic Constitutions. It is similar to the Latin and Arabic canons, but differs in some other respects.

    The Ethiopian Bible contains writings that are rejected by other Christian churches. It also includes writings that were later rejected by churches. Currently, the Ethiopian Bible manuscript contains only the four gospels and the first eight books of the Old Testament. It was first compiled in the 17th century as a copy of an earlier manuscript.

    The Ethiopian Bible contains more than one version of the Old Testament. Some versions include a number of different books that are not found in the Greek, Hebrew, and Roman canons. The Orthodox Tewahido Church considers four of them to be canonical. It also accepts two more books of the Old Testament as equally canonical.


    The Ethiopic Church accepts the same forty-nine books as the Eastern Orthodox Church. They also accept the Book of Jubilees and the Book of Enoch. The Ethiopic Church is the only major Christian community that accepts these two books. While both groups agree that the thirty-nine books belong in Holy Scripture, they disagree as to whether the additional books should be counted as Holy Scripture.

    Ethiopia is often described as a land of promise. The 36 books in the Ethiopian Bible reflect this belief. The earliest of these books, which cite the Old Testament, are not read in the Ethiopian church. However, there are references to archangels and other biblical figures in the Ethiopian liturgy.

    The Ethiopian eunuch (eunuch) is nameless in the Bible, but he is known by different names in other traditions. For example, in the second century, the saint Irenaeus referred to him as Simeon Bachos, who was sent to Ethiopia to preach. In African tradition, he is known as Qinaqis, while some Russian sources refer to him as Djan Darada. In the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo tradition, he is called Bachos.

    See also  What Does Nicole Mean in the Bible

    The Ethiopic version of 1 Enoch was published in the English translation of 1821, which created a scholarly and popular sensation. It inspired William Blake, and the Greek text of the Ethiopian Bible was discovered in a tomb in Egypt in 1886-1887.


    The Ethiopian Orthodox Church recognizes 33 books in the Ethiopian Bible, as well as 46 in the Old Testament. The Ethiopian Bible was compiled using the Septuagint. Among the books found in the Ethiopian Bible are the books of Enoch and Baruch. It also includes the third and fourth Esdras. Other books are classified as psudepigraphic, and are not included in the Ethiopian Bible.

    The Ethiopian Bible also includes the Apocalypse of Paul, which was important to medieval Christian communities. It is dated from 163-142 BC, and the Ethiopian Orthodox Church says that it was written before the flood in Genesis. It contains many references to the Bible, including the story of Noah and the story of Joseph.

    The Ethiopian Bible also includes writings that were rejected by other churches. The Ethiopian Orthodox Bible Project preserves and makes available an edition of the Ethiopic Bible in Ge’ez, the ancient dead language of Ethiopia. However, some writings in the Ethiopian Bible were also excommunicated in the KJV.

    The Ethiopian eunuch believed the gospel when Philip explained it to him. When the chariot came to a spring, he asked to be baptized. When Philip had finished his baptism, the eunuch ordered the chariot to stop. The Ethiopian eunuch went up from the water without Philip, but carried the gospel back to Ethiopia and started a church there.

    See also  What Does the Number 44 Mean in the Bible


    Two books in the Ethiopian Bible are known as the Book of Jubilees and the Book of Enoch. The former is a commentary on Jewish thinking prior to the Christian era, and the latter is known as the Little Genesis. While only one-fourth of the Book of Jubilees survives in the Latin translation, the Greek version has many fragments that have been passed down from different authors. The Ethiopic Church has preserved these works as important parts of its traditions.

    The Ethiopic version provides a unique window into Greek Bible circulation in East Africa during the fourth century. Although typically ignored by textual critics, this translation is of central importance to the study of Bible transmission history. This study examines the transmission history of the book of Acts in Ethiopia, reconstructs the earliest attainable text, and assesses the manuscript using the most modern text-critical methods. The study lays the foundation for future text-critical work on this important text.

    The Ethiopic Bible canon differs from the canons of other churches. The Ethiopic New Testament contains thirty-five books, but the exact number is unknown. The Old Testament contains forty-six books. The Ethiopian Bible is based on the LXX text. The Ethiopian text has slightly different characters from the LXX, but is mostly in agreement with the Hebrew text.

    Comments are closed.