Skip to content

What Are the Dispensations in the Bible

    What Are the Dispensations in the Bible?what are the dispensations in the bible

    DISPENSATION is a term that refers to a divine office, stewardship, plan, or divine training. There are different kinds of dispensations in the Bible, and each one is important for understanding the biblical story. Let’s look at the Patriarchal dispensation.


    The Bible is divided into seven dispensations. The first dispensation began with the creation of mankind. This time period was followed by the law, and the second dispensation was followed by the era of Christ. Each dispensation had its own purpose and focus, but each was ultimately concluded with judgment. The dispensations are important, and understanding them helps us understand the overall plan of God.

    Dispensations are distinct administrations that God uses to test man’s obedience to His will. Although they don’t last forever, they often extend into subsequent ages. Dispensations are unique time periods in the Bible. Nevertheless, there are some important similarities between these periods. Whether the dispensations are long or short, the main thing is that they are all administrations of God.

    Dispensationalism emphasizes kingdom righteousness, social action, and holistic redemption. This is a popular view that has its supporters and detractors. Some dispensational believers, however, have written books refuting the Progressive Dispensationalism school of thought. In addition, the book Dispensations in the Bible has been revised to include a refutation of Progressive Dispensationalism.

    The term Israel is not used for all the God’s people. However, it does have a specific meaning for a national people. This is the case with Modified Dispensationalism, which began gaining popularity in the late 1980s. Some of the prominent figures in this movement include Darrell Bock, Craig Blaising, and Robert Saucy.

    The Scofield Reference Bible is the most common source for dispensational thinking. Its footnotes often follow a dispensational framework. These footnotes are often used in Bible colleges and seminaries. However, it is important to note that this view does not support all doctrinal claims.

    The Bible has three distinct periods of time. The first age, begins with the creation of Adam. The second age, or dispensation, begins with the restoration of the earth. Then there are seven dispensations in total. Those who believe in dispensationalism must also understand that every age ends with the rapture of the church.

    Throughout the Bible, the Dispensations demonstrate the role of God in the salvation of mankind. Without God, man will always fail. Dispensations are an important part of understanding Bible doctrine. During each dispensation, God will pursue his plan until it is complete. It is important to distinguish the seven dispensations, as they have significant implications for understanding the Bible.

    The first dispensation was under the law and lasted 1,500 years. This time period was followed by the dispensation of grace. During this time period, the Gentile nations were under human government. This law also applied to Israel. However, the Jews were still under law during the 70 AD Roman destruction of Jerusalem. By this time, the Gentile nations outside of Israel were already in the grace dispensation. Consequently, Paul is known as the apostle of the Gentiles.

    A dispensation consists of seven specific elements. Each of these elements has a name and a chief person. It also includes a special responsibility for man. It also begins with a new revelation. During each dispensation, a new stewardship is established. Certain regulations and ordinances carry over to the next dispensation.

    See also  A Woman's Purpose in the Bible

    The first dispensation, also known as the Dispensation of Innocence, lasted approximately 1,656 years between Adam and Eve’s eviction from the garden and the flood. During this dispensation, man acted according to his conscience, but evil eventually became overwhelming. After this period, God destroyed all of creation except Noah and his family in the great flood.

    Patriarchal dispensation

    The Patriarchal Dispensation in the Bible covers the time period prior to the Law of Moses. During this time period, God communicated directly with the principal men of families and clans and did not issue written laws. Instead, God spoke to them personally, speaking directly to Adam, Cain, Abel, Noah, and many others.

    In the Patriarchal Dispensation, God chose His people, the Hebrews, to be His special people. They received the Law from Him directly and were instructed to follow the laws. They were given the responsibility of teaching and governing their family. They also had the role of administering the worship.

    This arrangement is only seen between Genesis 1 and Exodus 20. This arrangement is based on the fact that patriarchs were male leaders. Adam, Noah, and Abram were all patriarchs in different ways. They were the chiefs of their tribes. However, they were not patriarchs in the biblical sense.

    The Patriarchal Dispensation in the Bible is the time period prior to the Law of Moses. It began around 1500 B.C., and lasted until the Law of Moses was given to Moses. After that time period, Patriarchy continued for the Gentiles, but it was not a universal law. The Law of Moses was given to the Israelites and Gentiles who were proselytizing. During the Patriarchal Dispensation, there were two “sub-dispensations” that were not permanent.

    See also  How Many Times Did God Stop Time in the Bible